Birds at school !

Live birds of prey in your classroom! Now that is a unique opportunity to awaken your student’s curiosity about the fauna that surrounds them! UQROP educators travel to schools with two ambassador birds to demystify the biology of birds of prey, to talk about their relationship with humans and to teach student’s about a few of the many species of birds of prey that might live near you! 

Our basic presentations differ depending on the amount of knowledge withheld by the students. It covers the general biology of birds or prey; it develops a theme related to the lifestyle of the birds presented, and we present anatomical pieces (wings, feet, skulls, etc.). We also suggest a few more specialized presentations:

All of our animations include the presentation of two live birds of prey; one diurnal species and one nocturnal species.

 

 

Raptors? Raptors!

Pre-school – the children learn the different body parts of birds of prey with the help of anatomical pieces and two (2) live raptors, for a period of 30 minutes.

 

Beak and talons:

Kindergarten – The children learn about the different body parts of birds of prey, its principal caracteristics and its habbits. They will also get to get a real feel for the anatomical pieces (talons, wings, etc.)  by touching them.

 

Little raptor will one day grow

Elementary school, 1st cycle: The students will learn to follow the growth and development of birds, discover the principal characteristics of birds of prey and their habbits, as well as be introduced to a few species native to the province of quebec. They will also cover the rehabilitation process that is done at UQROP.

 

Birds of Prey Everywhere!

Elementary school, 2nd cycle – Students learn to differentiate different habitats present in Quebec, and to associate birds of prey to each one of these habitats based on their lifestyle. They will discover principal characteristics of raptors, a few species native to quebec, and will learn about the rehabilitation process that is done at UQROP

 

Secrets of Birds of Prey:

Elementary school, 3rd cycle – Students learn to categorize the different species of birds of prey native to quebec. They will also be familiarized with the biologie of birds of prey, and will learn about the rehabilitation process that is done at UQROP

 

Birds and Humans

High school – students will learn about the biology of birds of prey, the different species that are native to the province of Quebec, and their adaptations in function of their lifestyle. The ecological role played by raptors, as well as the efforts made by UQROP to rehabilitate them are also subjects that will be covered.

 

Night owls

High school and elementary school - 3rd cycle – This presentation demystifies the owl families, and covers the characteristics used to differentiate these birds from other birds of prey by introducing the species native to Quebec (as well as their hoots, which are specific to each owl species!), and by discovering a few myths about them.

 

Workshop – Biologists on the field!

High school and elementary school - 3rd cycle – The students are initiated to the work of a biologist by dissecting a regurgitation pellet produced by a bird of prey, and by re-assembling the skeleton of the prey that was ingested by the bird. A short introduction is included. This is a good activity to complete the basic presentation. Only reserving this workshop does not include a presentation on birds of prey.

 

Contact-us to reserve your educational presentation!

UQROP

C.P. 246

Saint-Hyacinthe (Québec)  J2S 7B6

Phone : 450 773-8521 post 8545 or 514 345-8521 post 8545

Fax : 450 778-8101

Email : info@uqrop.qc.ca

• Chouette à l'école!

     Des oiseaux de proie vivants dans la classe!

     

     

    Voilà une occasion unique d’éveiller la curiosité des jeunes sur la faune qui les entoure! Les éducateurs de l’UQROP se déplacent dans les écoles avec deux oiseaux ambassadeurs pour démystifier la biologie des oiseaux de proie, parler de leurs relations avec les humains et découvrir quelques-unes des espèces d’oiseaux de proie vivant parfois tout près de chez nous!

    Des animations ciblées pour chaque cycle du primaire et du secondaire et diffèrent en fonction du niveau de connaissances des élèves. Elles présentent la biologie générale des oiseaux de proie, elles développent une thématique reliée au mode de vie de ces oiseaux et elles fournissent du matériel biologique (ailes, pattes, crânes, etc.). Notre programme éducatif vous propose également un choix d’animations plus spécialisées.

     

    Toutes nos animations incluent la présentation de deux oiseaux de proie vivants.

     

    Oiseau de quoi? Oiseau de proie

    Pré-maternelle - L'enfant apprend les parties du corps des oiseaux de proie avec l'aide des parties anatomiques et de deux (2) oiseaux de proie vivants, pour une période de 30 minutes.

     

    Petit rapace deviendra grand  :

    Maternelle - L'enfant apprend les parties du corps de l'oiseau de proie, ses principales caractéristiques et ses habitudes de vie. Il découvre des parties anatomiques d'oiseaux de proie par le toucher (plumes, ailes, pattes, etc.). 

     

    Le jour a des yeux, la nuit des oreilles:

    1er cycle du primaire - L'élève apprend à suivre le développement et la croissance de l'oiseau, découvre les principales caractéristiques des oiseaux de proie, leurs habitudes de vie ainsi que quelques espèces du Québec. Il survole le travail de réhabilitation effectué à l'UQROP.

     

    Des oiseaux de proie partout ! :

    2e cycle du primaire - L'élève apprend à différencier les divers habitats présents au Québec et à y associer des oiseaux de proie selon leur mode de vie. Il découvre leurs principales caractéristiques, quelques espèces du Québec et survole le travail de réhabilitation effectué à l'UQROP.

     

    Leurs problèms, c'est notre problème:

    3e cycle du primaire - L'élève apprend à catégoriser les espèces d'oiseaux de proie du Québec et il est familiarisé avec la biologie des oiseaux de proie et survole le travail de réhabilitation effectué à l'UQROP.

     

    Les oiseaux et les humains :

    Secondaire - L'étudiant survole la biologie des oiseaux de proie, les espèces présentes au Québec et leurs adaptations en fonction de leur mode de vie. Le rôle écologique des oiseaux de proie et les efforts de réhabilitation de l'UQROP sont également des sujets abordés.

     

    Hibou-je la nuit :

    3e cycle du primaire et secondaire - La présentation démystifie la famille des hiboux et des chouettes en abordant les caractéristiques les différenciant des autres oiseaux de proie, en passant en revue les espèces du Québec (ainsi que leurs hululements!) et en découvrant quelques mythes les entourant.

     

    Atelier - Trouve la proie!  :

    3e cycle du primaire et secondaire - L'étudiant s'initie au travail de biologiste en disséquant une boulette de régurgitation d'oiseau de proie et en reconstituant le squelette de la proie ingérée. Une courte introduction est incluse. L'activité est un bon complément à l'animation de base. La réservation de seulement l'atelier n'inclue pas la présentation d'oiseaux de proie vivants.

    Atelier - Devenez biologiste :

    Secondaire -  Activité pratique d’une durée de 75 minutes. Cette activité doit suivre l’animation « Les oiseaux de proie et les humains ».

    En équipe de deux, les élèves entrent dans la peau d’un biologiste et doivent:

    • Manipuler et observer des parties anatomiques d'oiseaux de proie;

    • Identifier des oiseaux de proie naturalisés à l’aide de mesures morphométriques;

    • Apprendre à utiliser une fiche d’identification;

    • Observer un oiseau de proie vivant au perchoir.

     

     

    Contactez-nous pour réserver votre animation éducative!

    UQROP

    C.P. 246

    Saint-Hyacinthe (Québec)  J2S 7B6

    Téléphone : 450 773-8521 poste 8545 ou 514 345-8521 poste 8545

    Télécopieur : 450 778-8101

    Courriel : info@uqrop.qc.ca